Restrict or unrestrict someone on Messenger

Android App Help
iPhone App Help
iPad App Help
If you restrict someone:
  • You won’t get notifications when they message you, and your phone won’t ring when they call you.
  • You won’t be able to call or message them.
  • You won't see your conversation with them in your Chats list.
  • We won’t tell them that you restricted them.
  • They won’t be able to see when you’re online or if you’ve read their messages. You also won't see when they're online.
  • We’ll let you know if you’re about to enter a group chat with someone you restricted.
See and manage people you restricted
You can see everyone that you restricted on Messenger and unrestrict them from your settings.
Restrict someone from your chat
  1. From Chats, tap the conversation with the person you’d like to restrict.
  2. Tap the name of the person at the top, then tap Restrict.
Restrict someone from your Chats list
  1. Tap Chats to view your conversations.
  2. Swipe left on your conversation with the person you’d like to restrict.
  3. Tap More, then tap Restrict.
See and manage people you restricted
You can see everyone that you restricted on Messenger and unrestrict them from your settings.
See and unrestrict people from your settings
  1. From Chats, tap menu in the top left.
  2. Tap , then tap Privacy & safety.
  3. Tap Restricted accounts.
  4. Tap on the person you want to unrestrict. You’ll be taken to your chat with them.
  5. At the bottom of your chat, tap Unrestrict.
You can also tap Add at the corner of your settings to restrict more people.
Was this helpful?
Yes
No