Blocking and Deleting

Blocking
When you block messages and calls from someone’s Facebook or Instagram account, they'll no longer be able to contact you (example: send you messages, call you) on Messenger or Facebook chat. You can also ignore a conversation, turn off notifications for a conversation, or delete a conversation.
How do I block messages and calls from someone on Messenger?
To block messages from someone:
Desktop App:
  1. Open a conversation with the person you want to block and click .
  2. Click Block on Messenger > Block.
Desktop (messenger.com):
  1. Below Chats, hover over a conversation with the person you want to block and click .
  2. Click Block Messages > Block Messages.
Note: Blocking messages from someone is different from blocking them on Facebook. If you block messages from someone, but you don't block them on Facebook, you'll still be able to see their Facebook profile. Depending on their privacy settings, you may also be able to see things like their status updates, comments, likes and tags on Facebook. Learn how to block people on Facebook.
Keep in mind that you can also delete a message or conversation directly from Messenger.
What happens when I block messages and calls from someone while I’m using Messenger?
When you block messages and calls from someone’s Facebook or Instagram account, they'll no longer be able to:
  • Chat with you on Messenger or Facebook Chat. You won’t receive messages or calls from the account you’ve blocked.
  • Receive messages or calls from your Messenger or Facebook account to their account.
  • Join a room you’re in if both you and they are logged into Facebook or Messenger.
Keep in mind that if you block messages and calls from someone’s Facebook account, they can still:
  • See your profile on Facebook.
  • Leave comments on your posts or post on your profile.
  • See your messages if you're both in the same group conversation. If you and the person you block are in a group conversation together, you'll be notified before you enter the conversation. You can leave the group at any time.
  • Communicate with you if they’re logged out of their account and join a room that you’re in. Remember that you can leave a room at any time.
  • Send you messages from a different Facebook or Instagram account if they have more than one.
Learn how to block messages from someone on Facebook. Keep in mind that when you block messages from someone, it doesn't automatically block them on Facebook.
Was this information helpful?
If you've blocked messages from someone, you can unblock them later. To unblock someone on Messenger:
Desktop App:
  1. Open Messenger for Windows or macOS.
  2. Click your photo in the top left.
  3. Click Preferences.
  4. Click Account Settings. Your Facebook settings page will open in your default browser.
  5. In your Facebook settings, click Blocking on the left.
  6. Scroll down to Block messages.
  7. Click Unblock next to the name of the person you want to unblock.
Desktop (messenger.com):
  1. Open Messenger for Windows or macOS.
  2. Next to Chats click .
  3. Click Settings.
  4. Next to Blocking click Manage on Facebook.
  5. In your Facebook settings, click Blocking on the left.
  6. Scroll down to Block messages.
  7. Click Unblock next to the name of the person you want to unblock.
Keep in mind that if you block someone on Facebook, you automatically block them on Messenger too. Learn more about how to unblock someone on Facebook.
Keep in mind that if you block someone on Facebook, you automatically block them on Messenger too. Learn more about how to unblock someone on Facebook.
Was this information helpful?
Some reasons why you can't send messages:

Keep in mind that:
  • This block is temporary.
  • You can still connect with your confirmed friends through the Facebook app or www.facebook.com while you're in this block by leaving comments on posts, posting on your profile or using other Facebook features.
  • If you can't send messages, you may also be temporarily blocked from sending friend requests.

To make sure you can send messages in the future:
  • Use the name you go by in everyday life to help the people you're messaging recognize you.
  • Once your block is over, please send messages and friend requests only to people you know.
  • Learn more about our policies from our Facebook Community Standards.

Other resources on:
Was this information helpful?
Deleting
Note: You can't delete all your conversations at once, but you can delete individual conversations.
You can delete messages, conversations and photos from your inbox. Keep in mind that this won't delete them from your friend's inbox.
Desktop App
To delete a conversation:
  1. Right click the conversation.
  2. Select Delete Conversation.
  3. Click Delete.
To delete a message or photo:
  1. Open the conversation.
  2. Right click on the message or photo you want to delete.
  3. Select Remove for You.
  4. Click Remove.
Desktop (messenger.com)
To delete a conversation:
  1. Below Chats, hover over the conversation.
  2. Click .
  3. Click Delete > Delete.
To delete a message or photo:
  1. Open the conversation.
  2. Hover over the message or photo you want to delete.
  3. Click More.
  4. Click Remove > Remove.
Was this information helpful?
You can permanently remove a message that you've sent for everyone in the chat, or just hide it from your view. If you select Remove for You, other people in the chat will still see the messages in their chat screen.
If you select Remove, then Unsend, people included in the chat won't be able to see the removed message. Keep in mind that people you sent a message to may have already seen your message and can still report the conversation.
Desktop App
  1. Open a Messenger conversation.
  2. Right click on the message you'd like to remove.
  3. Click Remove for You or Remove for Everyone.
  4. Click Remove.
Desktop (messenger.com)
  1. Open a Messenger conversation.
  2. Hover over the message you'd like to remove and click More, then Remove.
  3. Click Remove for You or Unsend for Everyone.
  4. Click Remove.
If you think a removed message you've received goes against our Community Standards, you can report it. Learn how to give feedback on or report a conversation in Messenger.
Was this information helpful?
Archiving a conversation hides it from your inbox until the next time you chat with that person, while deleting a conversation permanently removes the message history from your inbox.
To archive a conversation:
Desktop App:
  1. Right click on the conversation you'd like to archive.
  2. Click Hide Conversation.
Desktop (messenger.com):
  1. Below Chats hover over the conversation you'd like to archive.
  2. Click .
  3. Click Hide.
Was this information helpful?
Archiving a conversation hides it from your inbox until the next time you chat with that person.

To see all your hidden or archived conversations in one place

Desktop (messenger.com):
  1. In the top left next to Chats, click .
  2. Click Hidden Chats.

To search for one specific conversation that you archived

Desktop App and Desktop (messenger.com):
  1. Click Search at the top.
  2. Search the person's name in the search bar.
  3. Click the person's name to open the conversation.

Note: You can unarchive the conversation and add it back to your inbox by sending the person a new message.
Was this information helpful?
No, you can't see deleted messages or conversations. Deleting a message permanently removes it from your Chat list.
Keep in mind that deleting a message or conversation from your Chat list won't delete it from the Chat list of the person you chatted with. Learn how to remove a message you've sent.
If you want to hide a message from your Chat list but not delete it, you can archive the message instead.
Was this information helpful?