How to use Messenger with a deactivated Facebook account
You can keep using Messenger after you deactivate your Facebook account. If you had a Facebook account and deactivated it, using Messenger won't reactivate your Facebook account, and your Facebook friends can still message you.
To use Messenger after you deactivate your Facebook account:
- You can either download the Messenger mobile app if you don't already have it, or use Messenger on Messenger.com.
- Sign in to the Messenger app or Messenger.com with the same email and password that you used for your Facebook account.
If you're having trouble signing in, get help with account login and password issues. To add people to your contacts on Messenger, enter their phone numbers.
Learn how to control who can send messages to you in Messenger.