Unfriend or remove a friend on Facebook

Copy link
Android App Help
Computer Help
iPad App Help
iPhone App Help
Mobile Browser Help
Facebook Lite App Help

Unfriend someone's profile

  1. Go to that profile by typing their profile name into the search bar at the top of Facebook.
  2. Click Friends at the top of their profile.
  3. Click Unfriend, then click Confirm.
Note: If you can't find the profile you want to unfriend, the profile may be deactivated.

Unfriend a deactivated profile

  1. Click your profile picture in the top right of Facebook, then click your name to go to your profile.
  2. Click Friends.
  3. Search for the profile’s name.
  4. Click Options, then select Unfriend.
The profile you unfriended won't be notified. If you don't want someone to see your profile, add you as a friend or send you a message, you can block their profile.
Note: If you unfriend someone's profile, you'll also be removed from that profile's friends list. If you want to be friends with this profile again, you'll need to add them as a friend again.

Yes
No

Other ways to get help

Chat with Meta AI support assistant
Resolve issues, make changes and get support in real time