Â
Delete a Facebook group you admin
Copy link
Android App Help
Computer Help
iPad App Help
iPhone App Help
Mobile Browser Help
Facebook Lite App Help
Android App Help
Computer Help
iPad App Help
iPhone App Help
Mobile Browser Help
Facebook Lite App Help
You can delete a Facebook group only when it has no members.
Note: Deleting a group is permanent and can't be reversed, so consider pausing the group instead.
Learn about the differences between pausing and deleting a group.
Learn about the differences between pausing and deleting a group.
If you're a group admin, you can delete your Facebook group by:
- Private groups: Removing all members and then leaving the group, as long as the group creator has left the group or you are the group creator.
- Public groups: Banning all members and then leaving the group, as long as the group creator has left the group or you are the group creator.
When no members remain in the group, it will automatically be paused.
Delete a group
- Go to facebook.com/groups and select your group.
- Click Members (for private groups) or People (for public groups) at the top of the group. You might need to select More first.
- Click
Options next to each member's name and select Remove member (for private groups) or Ban from group (for public groups).
- Click Next, then click Confirm to proceed.
- Once you’ve removed the other members, and when you're the last group member, then click
Options next to your name and select Leave group. Click Delete group to confirm.
Keep in mind
- Group members aren't notified when you delete a group.
- If the only admin of a Facebook group leaves the group, deactivates their account, or deletes their account, they’ll be prompted to invite a new admin(s). The group will automatically be paused if they don’t select a new admin or if no one accepts the admin invitation within 7 days.
Other ways to get help
Chat with Meta AI support assistant
Resolve issues, make changes and get support in real time
