Remove or unsend a message on Messenger

Android App Help
iPad App Help
iPhone App Help
Computer Help
Mobile Browser Help
You can permanently unsend a message that you've sent or just hide a message from your view.
If you select Unsend for you, other people in the chat will still see the messages in their chat screen. If you select Unsend for everyone, people included in the chat won't be able to see the unsent message.
You can also learn how to edit a message.
Remove a message you received
Desktop App:
  1. Open a Messenger conversation.
  2. Right click on the message you'd like to remove.
  3. Click Remove for you or Remove for everyone.
  4. Click Remove.
Desktop (messenger.com):
  1. Open a Messenger conversation.
  2. Click next to the message you'd like to remove.
  3. Click Remove and then Remove again.
Unsend a message you sent
Desktop (messenger.com):
  1. Open a Messenger conversation.
  2. Hover over the message you'd like to remove and click More, then Remove.
  3. Click Remove for you or Unsend for everyone.
  4. Click Remove.
Keep in mind that:
  • People may have already seen your message before you unsent it.
  • If you or someone in your chat downloads a copy of their Facebook data, you’ll both be able to see that messages were unsent in the chat, but not what those messages said. Select Messages to include chat history when downloading your information.
  • If you think an unsent message you've received goes against our Community Standards, you can report it by pressing and holding on a message next to it. You can also report the conversation. Any unsent messages from a reported conversation may be reviewed as part of the report. We can only review the content of unsent messages if you report them within 14 days after they’re unsent.
Was this helpful?
Yes
No