Manage message sharing permissions for a chat on Messenger

Copy link
Android App Help
Computer Help
iPad App Help
iPhone App Help
Message sharing permissions and the features managed by it are being gradually introduced and may not be available to you. Message sharing permissions are not available for some types of chats, including Marketplace chats.
Message sharing permissions can be used to limit the ways messages and content are shared outside of your personal one-to-one and group chats on Messenger. When message sharing permissions are turned off in a chat, people in the chat can’t use AI features that involve sharing messages with Meta AI, or auto-save photos.
In a chat with one other person, anybody in the chat can turn this permission on or off. In a group chat, only admins can turn this permission on or off. Message sharing permissions can be turned on or off at any time.

Change message sharing permissions for a chat on Messenger

  1. From your inbox, open a chat on Messenger.
  2. Click Information.
  3. Below Privacy & support, click Message permissions.
  4. Click the toggle next to Allow message sharing to turn off message sharing. Click it again to turn it on.
If message sharing permissions have been turned off for a chat:
  • The option to auto-save photos will also be turned off.
  • No one in the chat will be able to use AI features that involve sharing messages with Meta AI, such as summarizing with Meta AI or asking Meta AI to edit someone else’s photo.
  • Remember that people can still share messages or content in the chat with others (example: by forwarding) or with Meta (examples: by reporting to Meta or forwarding to Meta AI).
If you don’t want your information to be used to develop and improve Meta’s generative AI models, you can submit an objection to Meta.

Yes
No

Other ways to get help

Chat with Meta AI support assistant
Resolve issues, make changes and get support in real time