How blocking works on Messenger

iPhone App Help
iPad App Help
Android App Help
Computer Help
When you block messages and calls from someone's Facebook profile or Instagram account, they'll no longer be able to contact you (example: send you messages, call you) on Messenger or Facebook chat.
If you aren't ready to block someone's profile, you can also restrict a profile, turn off notifications for a chat or delete a conversation.
Block someone's profile on Messenger
To block messages from someone's profile:
Desktop App:
  1. Open a conversation with the person you want to block and click .
  2. Click Block on Messenger, then Block.
Desktop (messenger.com):
  1. Below Chats, hover over a conversation with the person you want to block and click .
  2. Click Block and select Block messages and calls.
  3. Click Block.
Note: Blocking messages from someone is different from blocking them on Facebook. If you block messages from someone, but you don't block them on Facebook, you'll still be able to see their Facebook profile. Depending on their privacy settings, you may also be able to see things like their status updates, comments, likes and tags on Facebook. Learn how to block someone's profile on Facebook.
How blocking works with multiple Facebook profiles
When you block someone's Facebook profile while on the Messenger app, it only blocks them from interacting with the profile you're currently using. You'll also need to block their profile from other Facebook profiles you may have or that you create in the future.
If the person you blocked has more than one Facebook profile, blocking one of their profiles will limit how their other profiles can interact with you. Learn more about having multiple Facebook profiles.

Was this helpful?
Yes
No