Download a copy of your information on Facebook

Android App Help
Computer Help
iPad App Help
iPhone App Help
Mobile Browser Help
Basic Mobile Browser Help
If you have additional Facebook profiles, you can download a copy of your Facebook information for each of your profiles using the Download your information tool.
Please note, some information collected from your additional profiles, including ads information, can only be accessed by downloading your Facebook information for your main profile, which is the first profile you create when you sign up for Facebook.
You can access Download your information under Your information and permissions in Accounts Center or through your Facebook settings.

Request a download of your Facebook information from Accounts Center

  1. Click on your profile picture in the top right, then click Settings and privacy.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Click Accounts Center, then click Your information and permissions.
  4. Click Download your information.
  5. Click Download or transfer information.
  6. Select the profiles you’d like to download information from.
  7. Click Next.
  8. Select How much information you want to download and click Next. Note: if you select Specific types of information, you will be able to choose which kinds of information you want to download, including data logs.
  9. Choose if you want to download your information to a device or directly transfer your information to a destination and click Next.
    • If you select Transfer to destination you can choose the destination and schedule future transfers. Note: When you choose a destination, you may be prompted to sign in to the destination’s app or website.
    • Once you select the destination and frequency, click Start transfer. You will be prompted to enter your Facebook profile password.
    • If you select Download to device, choose your file options:
  10. Click Submit request.

Request a download of your Facebook information from your settings

  1. Click your profile picture in the top right of Facebook.
  2. Select Settings & privacy, then click Settings.
  3. In the left column, click Download your information.
  4. Click Continue.
  5. Click Download or transfer information.
  6. Select the profiles you’d like to download information from.
  7. Click Next.
  8. Select How much information you want to download and click Next. Note: if you select Specific types of information, you will be able to choose which kinds of information you want to download, including data logs.
  9. Choose if you want to download your information to a device or directly transfer your information to a destination and click Next.
    • If you select Transfer to destination you can choose the destination and schedule future transfers. Note: When you choose a destination, you may be prompted to sign in to the destination’s app or website.
    • Once you select the destination and frequency, click Start transfer. You will be prompted to enter your Facebook profile password.
    • If you select Download to device, choose your file options:
  10. Click Submit request.
After you've made a download request, it will appear as Pending in the Download your information tool. When your file is ready you'll have 4 days to download your information from the Available downloads section on the Download your information page in Accounts Center or your Facebook settings. Downloading your files is a password-protected process that only you have access to.
Once we've finished preparing your download request, we'll send an email notification and a notification on Facebook letting you know it's ready. The download will only be available for a limited time.
If you’ve made a transfer request, we'll send an email notification and a notification on Facebook letting you know it's done. Completed transfers will appear in the Previous transfers section of the Transfer your information tool.

Download a copy of the information you requested

  1. Go to the Available downloads section of the Download your information tool.
  2. Click Download and enter your password.
You can also tap Delete to delete your download or View past file requests to see your past download requests.
You can also access this setting through the Privacy Center.
Note: You can always view your Privacy Shortcuts to learn about the ways you can control your data and privacy on Facebook. If you want to review recent activity on your Facebook profile or want to review your Facebook profile information, you can use the Access your information tool.
Can I pick and choose which information I would like to download?
Yes. When you download a copy of your information on Facebook, you have control over which categories of information you want to include in the download, as well as which date range of information you want to include of the information you want to receive. These choices are available when you make the request for your information. Learn more about what's included.
You can also choose the quality of your media files (photos, videos) when you request a copy of your information. If you choose a higher quality version of your media, your download will be larger and take up more space.
What's the difference between an HTML or JSON copy of my information?
When you request a copy of your information on Facebook, you can choose to receive it in an HTML or JSON format:
HTML: An easy to view format of your information on Facebook. You'll receive a ZIP file that, once opened and extracted, will contain an HTML file named index that you can open like a web page on your web browser. The ZIP file will contain folders with files, including any images and videos you've requested.
JSON: A machine readable format of your information that could allow you to transfer your information more easily when uploading it to another service.
What security measures are in place to make sure someone else doesn’t download a copy of my information?
We have a number of security measures in place to help keep your account secure and protect your information on Facebook. Before you can begin downloading a copy of your information, we'll first ask you to enter your password. We may also ask you to complete additional verification steps before allowing your download to begin. To help protect your account, your download request will expire after a few days, and you can always request a new one.
Our security systems are always running to help mitigate threats before they reach you and your friends on Facebook, and we offer tools like Security Checkup and two-factor authentication as additional ways to improve the security of your account. Learn more about keeping your account secure.
Note: Keep in mind that your information request may contain private information. You should keep it secure and take precautions when storing or sending it, or uploading it to another service. You can always select specific sections when requesting a copy of your information.
I don't have an active Facebook account. How can I request my personal data stored by Facebook?
If you deactivated your account:
If you previously had a Facebook account but it's currently deactivated, you can reactivate your account by logging back into Facebook or by using your Facebook account to log in somewhere else.
Once you re-activate your account, you'll be able to access your information throughout your account or by using the Download Your Information tool.

If you deleted your account or have never signed up for one:
If you deleted your Facebook account, you'll no longer be able to access information related to this account. Some information you shared may still appear on other people's Facebook accounts. For example, if you sent someone a message, they may still have their copy of the message similar to an email.
If you don't have a Facebook account but believe Facebook may have information about you, you can contact us to request a copy of your information.

Was this helpful?

Yes
No