Â
Permanently delete your Facebook profile
Copy link
Android App Help
Computer Help
iPad App Help
iPhone App Help
Mobile Browser Help
Facebook Lite App Help
Android App Help
Computer Help
iPad App Help
iPhone App Help
Mobile Browser Help
Facebook Lite App Help
We’re gradually updating people to Meta Accounts. You may see either Accounts Center or Meta Account settings as the place to manage your account settings.
If you want to take a break from Facebook instead of deleting your profile, you can learn how to temporarily deactivate your profile.
If you have additional Facebook profiles, you can also delete or deactivate all profiles under your main profile. Learn how to delete or deactivate additional profiles.
Before deleting your profile, you may want to Export your information (like your photos and posts) from Facebook. After your profile has been deleted, you won't be able to retrieve anything you've added.
What happens if you permanently delete your Facebook profile
- You won't be able to reactivate your profile.
- Your photos, posts, videos, and everything else you've added will be permanently deleted. You won't be able to retrieve anything you've added.
- You'll no longer be able to use Facebook Messenger.
- You won't be able to use Facebook Login for other apps you may have signed up for with Facebook, like Spotify or Pinterest. You may need to contact the apps and websites to recover those accounts.
- Some information, like messages you sent to friends, may still be visible to them after you delete your profile. Copies of messages you have sent are stored in your friends' inboxes.
- The other profiles in your Meta Account will not be affected.
- If you use Facebook to log into Meta Quest, deleting your Facebook profile will also delete your Meta Quest information. This includes your app purchases and your achievements. You will no longer be able to return any apps and will lose any existing store credits.
- Pages that only you control will also be deleted. If you don’t want your Page to be deleted, you can give someone else full control of your Page. You’ll then be able to delete your account without deleting the Page.
What if you don't want all your content deleted, but you want to take a break from Facebook
You can take a break from Facebook and temporarily deactivate your profile. When you temporarily deactivate your profile:
- People won't be able to see or go to your Facebook profile.
- Your photos, posts and videos won't be deleted.
- You can still use Facebook Messenger. Your profile picture will still be visible in your conversations and people will still be able to search for you by name to send you a message. You will continue to appear to friends on Facebook in places where they can message you.
- You will not be able to use Facebook to access Meta Quest Products or your Meta Quest information.
- Pages that only you control will also be deactivated. If your Page is deactivated, people can’t see your Page or find your Page if they search for it. If you don’t want your Page to be deactivated, you can give someone else full control of your Page. You’ll then be able to deactivate your profile without deactivating the Page.
- You can choose to come back whenever you want.
Delete your Facebook profile
If you see Manage account at the bottom of Meta Account:
- Click your profile picture in the top right of Facebook.
- Select Settings and privacy, then click Settings.
- Click Meta Account at the top left of your screen.
- Click Manage account.
- Click Manage.
- Click Deactivation or deletion.
- Follow the instructions and click Continue, then follow the instructions to confirm.
If you see Accounts at the bottom of Accounts Center:
- Click your profile picture in the top right of Facebook.
- Select Settings and privacy, then click Settings.
- Click Meta Account.
- Click Personal details.
- Click Account ownership and control.
- Click Deactivation or deletion.
- Click profile you want to delete, then click Continue.
- Follow the instructions on the screen to delete your profile.
Canceling your Facebook account deletion
If it's been less than 30 days since you initiated the deletion, you can cancel your account deletion. After 30 days, your account and all your information will be permanently deleted, and you won't be able to retrieve your information.
It may take up to 90 days from the beginning of the deletion process to delete all the things you've posted. While we're deleting this information, it's not accessible to other people using Facebook.
Copies of your information may remain after the 90 days in backup storage that we use to recover in the event of a disaster, software error, or other data loss event. We may also keep your information for things like legal issues, terms violations, or harm prevention efforts. Learn more about our Privacy Policy.
To cancel your account deletion:
- Log into your Facebook account within 30 days of deleting your account.
- Click Cancel deletion.
Note: The number of days that you can cancel an account deletion varies by region.
Other ways to get help
Chat with Meta AI support assistant
Resolve issues, make changes and get support in real time
