What happens when I block messages from someone while I'm using Facebook?

Messages on Facebook appear in Facebook Chat. They're not comments on posts, or posts on a profile or page.
When you block messages and calls from someone, they can't:
  • Chat with you on your Messenger app or Facebook Chat. You won’t receive messages or calls from the account you’ve blocked.
  • Receive messages or calls from your Messenger or Facebook account to their account.
  • Join a room you’re in if both you and they are logged into Facebook or Messenger.
When you block messages and calls from someone, they can still:
  • See your profile on Facebook.
  • Leave comments on your posts, or post on your profile.
  • See your messages if you're both in the same group conversation. If you and the person you block are in a group conversation together, you'll be notified before you enter the conversation.
  • Communicate with you if they’re not logged into their account and join a room that you’re in. Remember that you can leave a room at any time.
To learn more about how to block or unblock messages from someone, or block them on Facebook:
Was this helpful?
Yes
No