Why is the Messenger app requesting permission to access features on my Android phone or tablet?

When you first use features in the Messenger app that require the app to access information or use features from your Android phone or tablet, you should see a screen letting you know that the app is asking for your permission to do this. Almost all apps need certain permissions to run on Android, and we use these permissions to help enable features in the app and create a better experience for you. Keep in mind that Android controls the way the permissions are named, and the way they’re named doesn’t necessarily reflect how the Messenger app and other apps use them.
Below you'll find a list of some of the permissions we currently request for the Messenger app on Android, as well as an example of how we use each one. This list is meant to give you a better understanding of how we use these permissions, but it doesn't include all of our uses of these permissions. If you've already installed the Messenger app, you can find a list of the permissions the app uses in your phone or tablet's Applications Manager, or by visiting the Play Store and clicking View Details under Permissions.
Note that the names of these permissions and how they're displayed on your device may differ depending on what version of Android you're using.
Android permission (what you’ll see on your Android phone or tablet) and examples of what we use this permission for:
  • Take pictures and videos: This permission allows you to take photos and videos within the Messenger app to send to your friends and other contacts.
  • Record audio: This permission allows you to record and send videos and voice messages and make voice calls within Messenger.
  • Read your contacts: This permission allows you to add your phone contacts as Messenger contacts if you choose to do so. Learn how to stop uploading your phone contacts.
  • Send and view text messages (SMS): This permission allows you to view and send SMS conversations in Messenger. If you add a mobile phone number to Messenger, this allows us to confirm your mobile phone number by finding the confirmation code that we send via text message (SMS).
We may update this, so check back here to learn more about Android permissions and how we use them. To learn more about how we collect and use data, review our Data Policy.
Was this helpful?
Yes
No