How does the Messenger Rooms feature work?
Change platform:Computer Help
Messenger Rooms is a video chat room where you can use link sharing to connect to more people. Depending on your room settings, participants won’t need to download, log in to or connect on Messenger to join your call.
When you use Messenger Rooms these privacy settings apply:
- Any participant can leave the room if they feel uncomfortable. Learn more about how to stay safe when using Messenger Rooms.
- Participants can report the room name if you believe it violates our Community Standards. Keep in mind that reports will not include audio or video from the room.
- If you have blocked someone on Facebook or Messenger, they won’t be able to join the same room as you if you and they are both logged into Facebook or Messenger. If you blocked someone’s messages or calls on Messenger, you will be notified if you’re about to join a room with the person you’ve blocked. You can then choose to join or not join the room. Remember that you can always leave a room.
- When a room creator broadcasts a room using Facebook Live, it is shared to Facebook and people outside the room may see what’s happening in the room. We may collect and review audio and video from the room’s broadcast to make sure they follow our Community Standards.
Keep in mind that different products will have different settings. You can only allow invite link sharing if it is compatible with the other settings you select when you create the room on one of our products.
Learn how rooms work on our products:
When you use Messenger Room links:
- If you are logged in to Facebook or Messenger when you join a room others will see your Facebook profile name, profile picture and that you are in the room.
- The video chat is not end-to-end encrypted.