Upload contacts to Messenger

Android App Help
iPhone App Help
iPad App Help
When you turn on contact uploading in Messenger, the app will start uploading your contacts from your device.

Turn on mobile contacts uploading for your Messenger app

  1. Open your Messenger app.
  2. From Chats, tap menu in the top left.
  3. Tap .
  4. Scroll down and tap Accounts Center.
  5. Tap Your information and permissions.
  6. Tap Upload contacts, then select your Messenger account.
  7. Tap Upload contacts to turn this setting on or off.

Delete uploaded contacts

When you turn off contact uploading, the contacts you've uploaded to Messenger will automatically be deleted.

Delete your contacts

  1. Open your Messenger app.
  2. From Chats, tap menu in the top left.
  3. Tap .
  4. Scroll down and tap Accounts Center.
  5. Tap Your information and permissions.
  6. Tap Upload contacts, then select your Messenger account.
  7. Tap Manage contacts, then tap Delete all contacts
To stop your contacts from being uploaded again, you’ll need to turn off contact uploading on any devices where you're using the Messenger app.
For more information, please see our notice on contact uploading for Non-Users.

Was this helpful?

Yes
No