Set messages to disappear in a Messenger end-to-end encrypted chat

Vanish mode is no longer supported, but you can still use disappearing messages. Disappearing messages are gradually being introduced and may not be available to you yet.
After you start an end-to-end encrypted chat, you can set a timer to have everyone's messages disappear at a time you choose after they’ve been seen.
Anyone in the end-to-end encrypted chat can reset the timer. If you send a message to someone and they don’t read it within 14 days, the message will automatically disappear from the chat.
Choose when your messages disappear from your chat
  1. Click the chat with another person.
  2. At the top of your chat, click .
  3. Click Privacy & support.
  4. Click Disappearing Messages.
  5. Select when you want messages to disappear from the chat after they’ve been seen.
  6. Click Done.
Your messages will disappear until one of you turns off the disappearing messages setting or changes the timer setting.
Remember that you or someone else in your end-to-end encrypted chat can report the conversation with a message timer for up to six hours after the message disappears. Keep in mind to only use disappearing messages with people you trust.
For example, it's possible for someone to
  • Take or forward a screenshot or a screen recording of a disappearing message and save it before it disappears.
  • Copy and save content from the disappearing message before it disappears.
  • Take a photo of a disappearing message with a camera or other device before it disappears.
If we detect that someone took a screenshot or a screen recording of your end-to-end encrypted chat, you and the people in the chat will be notified.
Keep in mind that we may not be able to detect all screen recordings or screenshot. Make sure that your Messenger app is updated to the latest version to use disappearing messages.
Was this helpful?
Yes
No