Deactivate Messenger

Remember that you have to deactivate your Facebook account in order to see the option to deactivate your Messenger account.
This action can only be done on a mobile device.
To deactivate Messenger after you've deactivated your Facebook account:
iPhone, iPad and Android
  1. Open Messenger and tap your profile picture in the corner.
  2. Scroll down and tap Account settings.
  3. Tap Account ownership and control.
  4. Tap Deactivation and deletion.
  5. Tap Continue to Facebook account deactivation and deletion.
  6. Tap Continue to account deactivation.
  7. Enter your password and tap Continue.
To reactivate Messenger, log in with your username and password.
Was this helpful?
Yes
No