Businesses and Ads in Messenger

Messaging and Calling
You can connect directly with businesses, places, and services in Messenger.
To start a conversation with a business, place or service:
Desktop App:
  1. Type the name of the business, place or service in the search bar.
  2. Click the business, place or service.
  3. Type your message.
  4. Click Send.
Desktop (messenger.com):
  1. From Chats, type the name of the business, place or service in the search bar.
  2. Click the business, place or service.
  3. Type your message.
  4. Click Send.
You can also:
Was this information helpful?
This feature is only available on the Messenger mobile app for Android.
You can directly call businesses, places and services that have added calling as an option.
To start a call:
  1. From Chats, type the name of the business, place or service in the search bar.
  2. Tap the business, place or service.
  3. In the top right, tap .
To end a call, tap at the bottom.
Keep in mind that businesses, places and services:
  • Cannot start a new call with you.
  • Can call you back within seven days after you’ve called them.
Was this information helpful?
You can turn off notifications from a conversation with a business. You can also hide ads from businesses on your Facebook account or turn off messages from the business, which will block the business from sending you more messages.
The business will not be notified when you change these settings.
To turn notifications off:
Desktop App:
  1. Open a conversation with the business you want to mute.
  2. Click , then click Mute Notifications.
  3. Choose how long you'd like to mute notifications for and then click Confirm.
Desktop (messenger.com):
  1. From Chats, open a conversation with the business you want to mute.
  2. Click , then click Mute Notifications.
  3. Choose how long you'd like to mute notifications for and then click Mute.
To turn notifications on:
Desktop App:
  1. Open a conversation with the business you want to unmute.
  2. Click .
  3. Click Unmute Notifications.
Desktop (messenger.com):
  1. From Chats, open a conversation with the business you want to unmute.
  2. Click .
  3. Click Unmute Notifications.
Was this information helpful?
Guest mode lets you chat with a business on their website using the Facebook Chat plugin without a Facebook account. When you start a chat as a guest, a temporary guest account is created that will be available on the browser where you started the conversation for 24 hours from creation or until you end the chat.
Keep in mind that even if you close your browser, the business can still message your guest account for 24 hours or until you end the chat. You’ll see the messages when you return to the website.
To start a chat with a business in guest mode
  1. Click in the bottom right.
  2. Click Continue as Guest.
  3. Create and send your message.
To end a chat as a guest user and delete the temporary account
  1. In your chat window, click in the top right.
  2. Click End Chat.
The messages will remain on your browser for up to 24 hours from chat creation. Businesses will not be able to send messages to your guest account after you end the chat or after 24 hours from creation, depending on which came first. The conversation will also remain in the business’ inbox until the business deletes it.
We don't share your name, email address or other Facebook account information with the business when you use guest mode. Any messages that you choose to send to the business while using guest mode will come from a user named “Guest” followed by a random number. When you end the chat, the guest account will be marked for deletion within 48 hours and then will be deleted within 32 days.
Learn more about the information Facebook receives when you use guest mode and how we use it. You can also learn more about Privacy and Safety in Messenger.
Was this information helpful?

Blocking and Reporting
When you turn off messages from a business, they will no longer be able to contact you in Messenger. You can also delete the conversation. The business will not be notified when you change this setting.
To turn messages from a business off:
Desktop App:
  1. Open a conversation.
  2. Click .
  3. Click Block > Block.
Desktop (messenger.com):
  1. From Chats, open a conversation.
  2. Click .
  3. Click Turn Off Messages.
To turn messages from a business on:
Desktop App:
  1. Open a conversation.
  2. Click .
  3. Click Unblock > Unblock.
Desktop (messenger.com):
  1. From Chats, open a conversation.
  2. Click .
  3. Click Turn On Messages.
Was this information helpful?
When you block messages from a business or Page on Messenger, they'll no longer be able to contact you (example: send you messages, call you) on Messenger or on Facebook chat. You can also ignore a conversation, turn off notifications for a conversation, or delete a conversation.

To block messages from a business or Page:
Android, iPhone and iPad:
  1. From Chats, open the conversation with the business or Page you want to block.
  2. Tap their name at the top of the conversation.
  3. Scroll down and tap Block.
  4. Tap Block on Messenger, then Block.
Note: Blocking messages from a business or Page is different from blocking them on Facebook. If you block messages from a business or Page, but you don't block them on Facebook, you'll still be able to see their Facebook Page. Depending on their privacy settings, you may also be able to see things like their status updates, comments, likes and tags on Facebook.
What happens if I block messages from a business or Page on Messenger?
When you block messages from a business or Page on Messenger:
  • You won't be able to receive messages from each other.
  • You won't receive any messages that were sent during the block after you unblock the business.
Note: When you block a business on Messenger, it does not automatically block them on Facebook.
What if I decide to unblock messages from a business or Page?
Android, iPhone and iPad:
If you've blocked messages from a business or Page on Messenger, you can unblock them later. To unblock messages from a business or Page:
  1. From Chats, type the name of the business you want to unblock.
  2. Tap the name of the Page you want to unblock.
  3. Tap Unblock.
  4. Tap Unblock on Messenger.
Was this information helpful?
When you report a conversation with a business in Messenger, your report will be sent to us for review. Reporting the conversation won't stop the business from messaging you. You can always delete the conversation, mute notifications or turn off messages from the business.
To report a conversation with a business in Messenger:
Desktop App:
  1. Open the conversation you want to report.
  2. Click then click Something's Wrong.
  3. Click the reason you're reporting the conversation.
  4. Click Next.
Desktop (messenger.com):
  1. From Chats, hover over the business you want to report.
  2. Click then click Something's Wrong.
  3. Click the reason you're reporting the conversation.
  4. Click Next, then Done.
Was this information helpful?
Transportation in Messenger
When you purchase plane tickets from KLM Royal Dutch Airlines, you can opt to receive updates about your flight in Messenger. You can view your boarding pass, check in to your flight, or track your flight status.
When you book your flight, the airline will send you a message in Messenger. To see airline updates, open the conversation.
Note: KLM Royal Dutch Airlines is currently the only airline you can get updates from in Messenger.
Was this information helpful?