Delete messages, conversations or photos you've received on Messenger

Android App Help
iPhone App Help
iPad App Help
Computer Help
Note: You can't delete all your conversations at once, but you can delete individual conversations.
You can delete messages, conversations and photos from your inbox. Keep in mind that this won't delete them from your friend's inbox.
Desktop App
To delete a conversation:
  1. Right click the conversation.
  2. Select Delete Conversation.
  3. Click Delete.
To delete a message or photo:
  1. Open the conversation.
  2. Right click on the message or photo you want to delete.
  3. Select Remove for You.
  4. Click Remove.
Desktop (messenger.com)
To delete a conversation:
  1. Below Chats, hover over the conversation.
  2. Click .
  3. Click Delete > Delete.
To delete a message or photo:
  1. Open the conversation.
  2. Hover over the message or photo you want to delete.
  3. Click More.
  4. Click Remove > Remove.
Deleting content in community chats
Members of a Facebook group can talk to each other about topics they care about in community chats.
Keep in mind that admins and moderators can permanently delete any content in community chats. If your content is deleted from a community chat, you’ll be unable to see or access that message again.
Was this helpful?
Yes
No