Delete messages, conversations or photos on Messenger

Android App Help
iPhone App Help
iPad App Help
Computer Help
You can't delete all your conversations at once, but you can delete individual conversations.
Deleting messages, conversations or photos permanently removes them, and you won't be able to see them anymore. Keep in mind that this won't delete them from your friend's inbox. Learn how to remove or unsend a message you've sent.
If you want to hide a message from your Chats list but not delete it, you can archive the message instead.
Delete a conversation
Desktop App
  1. Right click the conversation.
  2. Select Delete chat.
  3. Click Delete.
Desktop (messenger.com)
  1. Below Chats, hover over the conversation.
  2. Click .
  3. Click Delete chat, then click Delete chat to confirm.
Delete a message or photo
Desktop App
  1. Open the conversation.
  2. Right click on the message or photo you want to delete.
  3. Select Remove for You.
  4. Click Remove.
Desktop (messenger.com)
  1. Open the conversation.
  2. Hover over the message or photo you want to delete.
  3. Click .
  4. Click Remove, then click Remove to confirm.
Deleted content in community chats
Admins and moderators of a community chat that you’re in can permanently delete any content sent in the conversation.
If something is deleted from a community chat, you won't be able to see or access that content again.
Was this helpful?
Yes
No