What happens when I block messages from a profile while I'm using Facebook?
Messages on Facebook appear in Facebook Chat. They're not comments on posts, or posts on a profile or page.
When you block messages and calls from someone's profile, they can't:
- Chat with you on your Messenger app or Facebook Chat. You won’t receive messages or calls from the profile you’ve blocked.
- Receive messages or calls from your Messenger or Facebook profile to their profile.
- Join a room you’re in if both you and they are logged into Facebook or Messenger.
When you block messages and calls from someone's profile, they can still:
- See your profile on Facebook.
- Leave comments on your posts, or post on your profile.
- See your messages if you're both in the same group conversation. If you and the profile you block are in a group conversation together, you'll be notified before you enter the conversation.
- Communicate with you if they’re not logged into their profile and join a room that you’re in. Remember that you can leave a room at any time.
To learn more about how to block or unblock messages from a profile, or block a profile on Facebook: