Safety in Messenger

Key Controls to Ensure Your Privacy and Safety on Messenger
At Messenger, nothing is more important to us than making sure everyone in our community feels welcome, supported and safe. We want everyone that uses our service to know they can express their opinions and be who they want to be. To ensure this, we’ve provided a number of Privacy and Safety Tools so you can have a safe experience and help us foster an inclusive community.

Basic Feature Settings

The following are basic feature settings to help you control your account:

Adding a Connection

What does it mean when you add a connection? When you add someone as a new connection, you are giving them access to certain things:
  1. Your activity status (the green dot shows you’re online/active)
  2. When you were last active date/time
  3. They can see your Story
  4. The ability to call the connection via voice or video, or receive voice or video calls from them.
  5. Send or receive messages from your connection.
  6. “Seen” notification. The connection can tell when you have seen their message.

Activity Settings for Availability

Did you know you can edit the settings for who sees your activity?
Click on your profile picture then select > Availability > On/Off
  1. Public: Anyone can see your story.
  2. Friends and connections: Only Facebook friends and Messenger connections can see your story.
  3. Friends: Only your Facebook friends can see your story.
  4. Customize: Choose specifically who can see your story
  5. Hide story: Select specific people to hide your story from

Activity Settings for Story

Did you know you can edit the settings for who sees your Story?
On the top left of the profile picture select > Story > Edit then select who your story will be visible to:
  1. Public: Anyone can see your story.
  2. Friends and connections: Only Facebook friends and Messenger connections can see your story.
  3. Friends: Only your Facebook friends can see your story.
  4. Customize: Choose specifically who can see your story
  5. Hide story: Select specific people to hide your story from

Deactivating Your Account

Want to deactivate or delete your account?
You can only deactivate Messenger if you have deactivated your Facebook account. To deactivate Messenger after you’ve deactivated your Facebook account:
  1. Open Messenger.
  2. Tap your profile picture in the top left corner > Legal & Policy > Deactivate Messenger
  3. Enter your password and tap Continue.
  4. Tap Deactivate.

Key Messenger Tools for Privacy and Safety

The following are some key Messenger User Controls to help you keep your account safe and to control and ensure your privacy.

Report Spam or Abuse

Reporting spam or abuse helps us learn when something’s not right. Please let us know when someone:
  1. Sends suspicious links or attachments.
  2. Writes or shows something sexually explicit.
  3. Is insulting, harassing or threatening you, your family or friends.
  4. If you're concerned the person you’re having a conversation with might hurt themselves.
How to enable/disable:
Desktop app:
  1. Click on the conversation you’d like to block.
  2. Click the (i) info button in the top right of the screen.
  3. Tap the (cog wheel) icon to the right of the person's name.
  4. Click “Report Spam or Abuse”
  5. Help us understand what's happening by selecting the category that best describes what you see.
Mobile app:
  1. Click on the conversation you’d like to block.
  2. Tap the person's name at the top of the screen.
  3. Tap “Something’s Wrong”
  4. Help us understand what's happening by selecting the category that best describes what you see.

Mark as spam

Flagging a conversation as spam will report and remove it.
Note: The “Mark as Spam” conversation feature is only accessible via desktop.
How to enable/disable:
Desktop app:
  1. Click on the conversation you’d like to block
  2. Click the (i) info button in the top right of the screen
  3. Tap the (cog wheel) icon to the right of the person's name
  4. Click “Mark as Spam”

Block another user

You can block someone on Messenger if you choose to. So, what happens when you block messages from someone?
  1. They can no longer contact you in Messenger. This includes sending messages to you or calling you.
  2. You can no longer contact them in Messenger.
  3. If you and the person you've blocked are in a group conversation together, you'll be notified before you enter the conversation. If you choose to enter a group conversation with the person you blocked, you'll able to see their messages and they'll be able to see yours in that conversation.
Note: When you block messages from someone, it doesn’t automatically block them on Facebook. Learn more about how to block someone on Facebook here.
How to enable/disable:
Desktop app:
  1. Click on the conversation you’d like to block
  2. Click the (i) info button in the top right of the screen
  3. Tap the (cog wheel) icon to the right of the person's name
  4. Click “Block Messages”
Mobile app:
  1. Click on the conversation you’d like to block
  2. Tap the person's name at the top of the screen
  3. Click “Block”
  4. Toggle the “Block Messages” setting to block and unblock this person.

Ignore messages

When you ignore messages from someone, you will no longer be notified when they message you directly, and the conversation will move to “Filtered Requests”. The person will not be notified their messages are being ignored.
How to enable/disable:
Desktop app:
  1. Click on the conversation you’d like to block
  2. Click the (i) info button in the top right of the screen
  3. Tap the (cog wheel) icon to the right of the contact name
  4. Click “Ignore Messages”
Mobile app:
  1. Click on the conversation you’d like to block
  2. Tap the person's name at the top of the screen
  3. Tap “Ignore Messages”

Mute a conversation

You can mute a conversation for a selected period of time at the following intervals:
30 minutes
1 hour
8 hours
24 hours
Indefinitely
Muting a conversation disables notifications from this person. However, you will continue to receive @mention notifications while muted.
How to enable/disable:
Desktop app:
  1. Click on the conversation you’d like to block
  2. Click the (i) info button in the top right of the screen
  3. Tap the (cog wheel) icon to the right of the person's name
  4. Click “Mute”
  5. Select the period of time to mute this person
Mobile app:
  1. Click on the conversation you’d like to block
  2. Tap the person's name at the top of the screen
  3. Tap “Notifications”
  4. Tap “Mute Conversation”
  5. Select the period of time to mute this person

Other Features for Controlling Conversations in Messenger

Archiving a conversation

Archiving a conversation moves it out of your message feed.
To retrieve this conversation, type the person's name of this archived message into the Search Bar (magnifying glass icon).
Note: The “Archive” message feature is only accessible via desktop. However, once selected, this will archive your message with this person across both Desktop and Mobile.
How to enable/disable:
Desktop app:
  1. Click on the conversation you’d like to block
  2. Click the (i) info button in the top right of the screen
  3. Tap the (cog wheel) icon to the right of the person's name
  4. Click “Archive”

Deleting a conversation

You can delete messages, conversations and photos from your inbox. Keep in mind that this won’t delete them from your friend’s inbox. It isn’t possible to delete sent or received messages from a friend’s inbox.
Note: The “Delete” conversation feature is only accessible via desktop. However, selecting this will delete your message with this person across both Desktop and Mobile.
How to enable/disable:
Desktop app:
  1. Click on the conversation you’d like to block
  2. Click the (i) info button in the top right of the screen
  3. Tap the (cog wheel) icon to the right of the person’s name
  4. Click “Delete”